Sage 300 will incorrectly show an “expired subscription” error if you haven’t updated from version 2020 due to TLS authentication failure.
Here is how this happens.
- Every 30 days, Sage 300 will ping the licensing server to confirm the subscription’s validity – this process utilizes TLS encryption protocols.
- If you are running an older version of Sage 300 (2020 and prior versions), the TLS protocol Sage uses has been deprecated and will not communicate with the server.
- For Sage 300 to work as intended, the software must authenticate itself by confirming the validity of the subscription with the licensing server using updated TLS 1.2 protocols. (Read about this here [link to TLS article].
If this is the case, you will receive the following error message:
Should you receive this error, your software will be forced into a “read only” mode.
While you will still be able to access and view the data inside Sage 300, you cannot print, export, change transaction information, process payroll, or create payroll reports. Your data will be safe and fully accessible after processing the upgrade.
If you have received this error, Britec can help you rectify it without any significant downtime or disruption. Contact us today.